First meeting of the new DIID Board

The new DIID Board of Directors was elected by the General Assembly on December 8, 2023. On February 7, the Board met for its first working session.

According to the statutes, the Executive Board is the most important body of the institute. Unless otherwise specified, it is responsible for all DIID matters. This applies in particular to the strategic and scientific development of the institute, as well as all financial matters. The Executive Board decides on the admission of members, the termination of memberships, the selection of employees and reports regularly to the university management. The Executive Board also elects a managing director and their deputies (spokesperson team). Specifically, the Board is made up of seven university lecturers; three representatives of the academic staff and one representative each of the technical and administrative staff, doctoral students and academic and student assistants.

In December, Prof. Dr. Stefan Conrad (Computer Science), Junior Prof. Dr. Tobias Escher (Sociology), Prof. Dr. Susanne Hahn (Philosophy), Junior Prof. Dr. Gabriella Lapesa (Computer Science), Prof. Dr. Ulrich Rosar (Sociology), Prof. Dr. Thomas Zerback (KMW) and Prof. Dr. Marc Ziegele (KMW) were elected from the group of university lecturers for a term of two years. The group of employees is represented by Dr. Katarina Boland (Computer Science), Dr. Nadja Wilker (Political Science) and Lena Wilms (KMW). Juliane Feustel (DIID administrator) and Anna-Maria Linstaedt (research assistant) each represent their status group on the board. At its constituent meeting on December 8, the Executive Board had already elected Marc Ziegele as the new spokesperson and confirmed Ulrich Rosar and Stefan Conrad as deputies. The trio of spokespersons, supported by DIID coordinator Dr. Dennis Frieß, is now responsible for managing the DIID. We would like to congratulate the candidates on their election and thank them for their commitment.

The first joint board meeting, which was chaired for the first time by new spokesperson Prof. Dr. Marc Ziegele, dealt with topics including the redesign of the DIID website, future participation projects at HHU, the appointment of the advisory board and the preparation of the interim report to the Rectorate in summer 2024. It was also decided that the DIID should become a member of the Citizen Participation Association – initially for one year. The meeting took place in a hybrid format. A joint photo was also taken at the first joint meeting, although not all members were represented in it.