Arbeitsbereich: Philosophy

Jonas Carstens

3. November 2022

Jonas Carstens is a research assistant at the Chair of Practical Philosophy at HHU-Düsseldorf since January 2022 and part of the Use Case Law of the Manchot Research Group “Decision Making Using Artificial Intelligence Methods”. He studied English and Philosophy (B.A.) as well as English and Philosophy (M.Ed.) and Practical Philosophy of Economics and Environment (M.A.) in Kiel. His research interests lie in the area of philosophical notions of discrimination and their applicability to discrimination by artificial intelligence.

As a member of DIID, he is particularly interested in ethical aspects of AI-enabled online deliberation, as well as the interplay between AI applications and social power structures in general.

Jonathan Seim

11. January 2020

Jonathan Seim is a research associate at DIID, responsible for the coordination of the institute. He is also a research associate in the Digital Ethics project at the Center for Advanced Internet Studies (CAIS). His position is financed by project funds from Stiftung Mercator. Previously, he studied political science and philosophy at HHU-Düsseldorf and at the University of the West of Scotland. His research focuses on moral philosophy and political philosophy, especially the theory of democracy. His dissertation in philosophy deals with democratic participation rights in citizen participation processes. Even though a correct distribution of participation rights is of fundamental importance for the legitimacy of the procedures, this question is neither sufficiently addressed in politics nor in science. The aim of the dissertation project is to develop criteria for the allocation of participation rights in consultative citizen participation procedures and practical recommendations for action.

In the context of DIID, his interest is focused on the legitimacy conditions of online participation.

Prof. Dr. Frank Dietrich

21. March 2018

Prof. Dr. Frank Dietrich has held the Chair of Practical Philosophy at HHU-Düsseldorf since 2012. His research and teaching focuses on political philosophy, the philosophy of law, and ethics.

In the context of DIID, he is concerned with the democratic-theoretical legitimacy of online participation procedures as well as the protection of privacy.

Prof. Dr. Susanne Hahn

21. March 2018

Prof. Dr. Susanne Hahn has been an adjunct professor at the Institute of Philosophy at HHU-Düsseldorf since 2016. She has held a professorship there since 2017, focusing on theoretical philosophy. She is the recipient of the German Prize for Philosophy and Social Ethics of the Max-Uwe-Redler Foundation. Her main research interests are rationality, normativity, and business ethics.

In the context of DIID, she is concerned with the normative challenges posed by digitalization. These include, for example, the need to rethink the justification of forms of representative and direct democracy in light of technological possibilities.